budget meals, food, meals on a budget.

Rescuing day old bread

So you bought a baguette πŸ₯– or some fancy Italian bread 🍞 , you didn’t eat it or eat the whole thing and now it’s dry, hard or stale.

That’s exactly what happened and I tried watching a couple YouTube videos to find out how I could restore it and make it edible again but all the recipes/ solutions involved an oven. Now if you’ve read any of my posts, you know that I don’t use my oven at the moment so I try to find recipes that don’t require one.

This is a very easy recipe that doesn’t involve you baking the bread 🍞 πŸ₯–.

What you’ll need:-

~ Bread of your choice

~ dried or minced garlic

~ butter or olive oil.

~ herbs 🌿 (optional)

The YouTube videos suggest you soak the bread in cold water then bake it in the oven for a few minutes. I tried soaking it then putting it in the pan but it only ended up soggy, so here’s how I did it.

Slice the bread πŸ₯– and put some butter or olive oil in the pan. You can also try buttering up the bread if you prefer.

Have your stove on low to medium heat and spread/ sprinkle your garlic powder or minced garlic into the pan and sliced bread. Place bread onto pan and when browned flip over before that side burns and then flip to the other side.

Repeat for all other slices. Serve with any sides and spreads if your choice. Bon appetite πŸ˜‹.

Leave a comment