Post Independence.

First of all, happy new Month guys! And Happy Sunday.

This is going to be a shirt post, mostly questions too.

So Nigeria turned 56 years on the 1st of October (yesterday). I am one of those people who is really proud of her country and my hackles rise whenever others speak unfairly about her.

Nigeria like any other country has its ups and downs, but the one thing I wish we had more of is National Pride. As we post our happy Independence day pictures,posts and comments. How much of that truly resonates with us? Do we stop and reflect on how this is about us and how we need to do better?

Yes we are going through a recession, yes we constantly feel like our government has failed us, but are we also not failing her (Nigeria) by constantly bringing her down and pointing out only her flaws?

We need to take the time to push out positivity and patriotism, show all the good the country has to offer and remember that we are NIGERIA.

WE NOT ANYONE ELSE.

28 thoughts on “Post Independence.

    • Yes I do! I love Nigeria. It’s. Colourful country with really diverse people. For a long time now, this diversity has been a weakness instead of a strength. But I am hoping that we learn to accept one another just as we are because it’s in our differences that we will find strength. As a country we have a lot to work on. We are still growing but I believe that we are currently on the track to getting there. Nigeria is a place of beautiful people, hot and passionate (lol very passionate) undiscovered beauties and untouched innocence. So yes I am proud of her and I wish every Nigerian would feel this way and change the single story out there. Thank you for asking😊😊

      Like

        • Well we have 36 states which isn’t as much as other places, but we have so many indegineous tribes and dialects. With a lot of Local Governments within each state. When I say it’s a weakness, it’s because people tend to see themselves first as those ethnic groups rather than Nigerians. And so it breeds tribalism, ethnic shaming in some cases and all that stuff. I feel it’s time people thought of themselves as Nigerians First before anything else. Africa is great, like any other place it has its highs and lows, but in the case of Africa I believe she’s also highly misunderstood lol

          Liked by 1 person

          • I don’t doubt she is. It is interesting, because if you asked many Americans they think of Africa as one place and don’t even think of the individual differences of the countries let alone the tribalism you are describing. What has allowed you to identify as Nigerian, versus others who might be more closed minded?

            Liked by 1 person

            • I guess alot of things. Most Nigerians are reliant on what the country should be doing for them or rather what it’s not. I was raised to see the opportunities and be grateful for all of it. I believe that if you can survive and thrive in Nigeria, you can in most places. Most everything about this country is a lesson if you choose to see it that way. And marrying someone who isn’t fully Nigerian but an American citizen and realizing all I would be leaving behind makes me ponder. And realizing that I would be a stranger somewhere else and would be judged on the behavior of others before me who havent left a good mark used to discourage me. But j decided I wont let other’s stories define me. My country is beautiful and j need to show people the good and not just the bad they’ve come to know

              Liked by 1 person

              • As someone who has lived in a lot of places, it is interesting how you tend to carry the weight of those others who are identified as like you wherever you go. I was never as mentally closely linked to Seattle before I went out and lived all over the country and world. Although, for black people living in the U.S. you are always defined by your blackness, so you have that to look forward to should you live here. Nigeria sound pretty unique, I hope I will get the chance to visit someday.

                Liked by 1 person

              • Yeah the stereotyping scares me also. But I do hope you get to visit at some point in time. I truly hope you have a great experience. Thanks so much I appreciate your curiosity and attention😌😊

                Like

  1. The wife and I really love this blog and appreciate the creativity and imagery you provide. If you ever decide to take this blog to the next level by offering a Mobile App version I would love to be of service for an extremely low price, we appreciate the hard work you have put into this blog and wish you all future success in business and in life.
    Thank you for your time, it is the most precious thing we all possess.
    -Jacque’

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

